My experience with sleep paralysis

So, as you might know from following this blog, I have a keen interest in the paranormal and I might even go as far as saying a fascination with the unknown. I am the first person to jump whenever someone mentions ghosts and the first on a ghost tour, hell I’ve even started my Halloween preparations and its only August. I have never felt scared of the unknown and I feel drawn to finding out more about the world that we can’t see. However, I have one rule. It’s not allowed in my home.

To set the scene for this post I’ll jump right into my story. It involves the most terrifying night of my life.

As I mentioned previously I’ve never felt scared of the unknown and I’ve always been drawn to the paranormal. Mostly out of wonder and awe since I’m not even sure what I believe and don’t believe, I just like having an open mind and generally being a bit spooked. I am also incredibly boring and have no ghost stories I can share which may be why I’m always compelled to look for them. Since I have never experienced anything spooky I have never felt scared in my own home. Why should I? This is my sanctuary, the place where I can curl up on the sofa with tea, watch Ghost Hunters and nap with my dogs. Nothing spooky ever happens here. Right?

Well a few months ago I had my first experience with sleep paralysis, quite out of the blue. For all of you who don’t know this is professionally referred to as ‘ A frightening form of paralysis that occurs when a person suddenly finds himself or herself unable to move for a few minutes, most often upon falling asleep or waking up. Sleep paralysis is due to an irregularity in passing between the stages of sleep and wakefulness.’ but me… I just describe it as terrifying.

On this night in particular I was in bed suffering from a cold and I already had trouble breathing. I had been working all day and exhaustion had taken its toll so I decided to head for bed, nothing unusual happening as always. I’ve never had any problems sleeping with previous illnesses and this cold wasn’t particularly bad or thats what I thought until 2am came around. I remember the experience vividly like its etched into my brain, I woke suddenly to the feeling of a weight on my ankle and my mind flipped on like a switch. I was aware that the weight seemed to cup my ankle almost like a hand pushing down into the bed. As I lay, paralysed with fear I tried to yank my leg away but I couldn’t move, I tried to call out but I couldn’t scream. I remember repeating ‘no’ and ‘stop’ over and over but I couldn’t open my mouth. As the weight moved up my leg panic set in and my heart started racing, I started sweating and I was utterly trapped in my own body but this sensation of something moving up my leg was all too real. Suddenly, as quickly as it started I jolted awake, shouting. I looked down at my leg in the dark and I could still feel the weight around my ankle like someone had squeezed too tight and let go. Its safe to assume I didn’t get any more sleep that night or any subsequent nights after. I’m also not ashamed to admit I also invested in a night light after the experience and I certainly haven’t been watching nearly as much Ghost Hunters.

Although, this experience still haunts me I can’t help but wonder if its not as explainable as physicians would have you believe? I don’t want to believe that there is an angry spirit in my room that likes to grab me mid sleep but I also don’t understand why my body would terrify me like that. If you have any sleep paralysis stories or theories please leave them in the comments! I also hope whatever this experience was never returns. If this is how I react to my own mind tricks I’d hate to ever come face to face with something truly unexplainable.

Leave a comment