2016 Hits and Misses (Skincare)

Firstly, go grab some tea and a blanket because this is going to be one long ass post.

Now that 2016 is over I’ve had some time to reflect on all the products I have tried throughout the year and more importantly how much money I have wasted on skincare that just didn’t live up to the hype.

Hits

These products I have absolutely loved throughout the year and I’ll tell you why.

Lush’ Herbalism face cleanserΒ 

If you have read any of my previous posts you’ll understand why I love this stuff, it has saved my acne prone skin and is gentle enough to not cause breakouts yet strong enough to keep skin clear and looking fab.

CeraVe moisturising cream

img_7925

After struggling with recurring acne this moisturiser has saved my face, at the beginning of the year I tried a Bare Minerals skin routine which worked great for about a month and then my acne came back. Ive heard similar reviews about their skincare where some people swear by it and then a few months later have to completely change products as they stop working.. However I’ve been using CeraVe for 8 months now and I have only had fantastic results.

Garnier micellar water

fullsizerender-6I use this product everyday before bed to remove makeup – pre cleanse and it works a treat. Ive never had a breakout using this and it removes even the most stubborn eye makeup gently.

Avene Cleanance Expert

img_7930

Recently I decided for some reason to switch up my skincare routine even though there really wasn’t anything wrong with Herbalism and CeraVe in the hope that I could revive my dull winter skin. However the only product that actually helped any from this new skincare was this moisturiser. At first I experienced some red patches and small blemishes but these quickly subsided to reveal smooth, even and flawless skin, it even tackles old acne scars.

Soap and Glory hand food

I got this as part of a gift box for Christmas and I haven’t put it down since, it really helps keep chapped skin at bay in the freezing Scottish winter.

La Roche-Posay 50+ suncream

img_7931Now this is something that I haven’t used since July as we really have no need for suncream in a country that barely sees temperatures over 20 degrees however I love this product when the sun does make an appearance. Since I am on retinoid cream for acne I have to be very careful with sun exposure and this keeps me protected without clogging my pores or causing breakouts.

Garnier Intensive 7 day nourishing body lotion

img_7941I love this, it keeps my skin soft, need I say more?

Lush Santa Baby lip scrub

On a recent trip to London I had some major lip problems, they were chapped and sore but also trying to heal so I had disgusting new white skin everywhere, not a good look. So I was thrilled to find a Lush for this emergency purchase, it keeps your lips soft and even tastes like cola.

Burts bees beeswax lip balm

img_7939

This has also been a staple for me all year and I absolutely love my lip balm. One thing I will say though is to go for the Peppermint option, the honey does work but I feel like peppermint heals better and smells much nicer.

Now on to the misses.. and some of these miss big time.

Bare Minerals moisturising creams

Now Ive already mentioned these creams in my hits section and you may think my writing is just going to pot but they do belong to both hits and misses. For the first month of using these creams my skin was flawless however they seemed to loose their magic quickly and the dreaded acne returned. I also used these creams in conjunction with their blemish remedy which I do like and it does give some good results on spots that have yet to come to a head but it STINKS of sulphur and yes, everyone else around you can smell it too.

Avene rich moisturiser and face wash

I have heard so many amazing reviews about Avene and I decided that this was the way to go to uplift my dull winter skin. I purchased these two products along with the Cleanance expert and used them for around two weeks.. and I have honestly never been so disappointed in my life. I know you are supposed to use new skincare products for a month before deciding you don’t like them however the cleanser made my skin so dry and the moisturising cream broke me out in painful cysts.

The only product I have kept from this routine is the Cleanance expert and that I do love. I’m sorry Avene, I really did try to like you.

Laura Geller spackle primer

fullsizerender-8This is a piece of s**t. It doesn’t moisturise, it balls up on the skin, it leaves a white residue, it causes breakouts. Probably the worst product I’ve ever used.

 

Biore Charcoal pore minimiser

fullsizerender-11

I tried this cleanser before switching to Avene and although it didn’t break me out it didn’t do anything at all. Its supposed to shrink pores and remove stubborn blackheads but unfortunately I still have blemishes and it left red patches on my sensitive skin.

So there you have it, my hits and misses from 2016. Hopefully you will find it useful to have a quick recap of products that work and those that don’t so you don’t have to waste your money on something useless. Thanks for reading and don’t forget to subscribe to my blog so you don’t miss a thing!

I’ll see you in the next one!

 

 

Categories skincareTags , , , ,

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close